Image of Jane Darwell

Jane Darwell

Jane Darwell was probably one of the most familiar character actress in the history of motion pictures. Born in Palmyra, Missouri, Miss Darwell entered motion pictures in the early silent days, around 1912. She appeared in many early C.B. DeMille pictures as well as with other companies. Darwell appeared in over 200 films in the 1930-1955 period and was under contract with 20th Century-Fox during a 10-year span. She won the Academy Award for her brilliant performance as Ma Joad in The Grapes of Wrath in 1940. Darwell said that "needless to say this is my favorite role." Other films included Huckleberry Finn, Back Street, Ox-Bow Incident, Impatient Years, Sunday Dinner for a Soldier, Captain Tugboat Annie, My Darling Clementine, Three Godfathers, Wagonmaster, Caged, and Journey into Light. She died in 1967.

Birth Date:
Sep 23, 1879
Year of Death:
Featured Credits:
Movie My Darling Clementine as Kate Nelson 1946